Dark Goya

I have not the answers to the question of the hammer-smashed, chainsaw-shredded, and C4-blasted heart pertaining to what kind of evil person would put the picture of some actress on the wrapper of an already perfectly good chocolate.

Before and After Dec 21 2012. Courtesy of KRAMmed

After taking all that crap from the big screen shift of The Last Airbender, I get a payload one day while taking a stroll around the supermarket looking for chocolate–yes, there’s more wordiness where that came from. I find one of my favorite brands of the bitter sweet delight vandalized by the face and signature of some celebrity I’m not a fan of.

First thing’s first: I do not have any problem with these mass media-produced personalities as long as I don’t have to see them while I eat. This kind of low-blow advertising should keep itself attached to hair products, facial cleansers or whiteners, or soaps–pardon the stereotyping but that’s just reality. I just can’t eat shampoo. It’s not that I’m trying to protest the candy maker’s advertising tactics. But my brain is against every unethical allegory one can think of while eating the chocolate bar. The main ingredient itself is enough aphrodisiac. Why ruin that? That’s like putting sprinkles on good ice cream! Didn’t they listen to Numbuh 5 of Sector V?

Kidz Next Door aside, somebody ought to tell Goya to stop this madness.To make matters worse, I heard that lady in the picture just got her heart broken by some jerkass. Now what’ll her fans do, eat chocolate while crying?

4 responses to “Dark Goya

    • Yes. I agreed to show your negative comment on my post. Actually I’m more thankful that somebody noticed my blog at last. However, I cannot say any witty reply in line with basic economics since I did not take that in college.
      So I shall accept any lessons from your part, first and foremost on what Monopolistic Competition means. It just sounds too ironic of a word. Please note I have not the time to look it up.
      Second, how do you monopolize chocolate, and lastly, how do you monopolize chocolate with an actress only one fifth of the country likes–“one fifth” assuming the network ratings is the minimum percentage of fans for each networks’ talents?
      Thank you very much and have a good day.

  1. haha. how sad. i think that part of the lesson was discussed on your most basic economics. maybe you should go back to your high school teacher. like what i said before, know your basic economics. you really sound funny with your comments though. you really should do your homework before writing anything like that.

    • Good news, Monopolistic Competition IS a word. But no mention of ads in it, just math and logic. Before you lambast my post once more however, please note that my post was about chocolates, advertisement tactics, use of popular celebrities, all on the shallow level of a consumer’s opinion, not analytical thought on economics. I still don’t see how your character-degrading, self-absorbed, smug comment is related to my article. By the looks of it, you’re also a Filipino as I am as a lot of us do like to bring down our own and talk like we’re smarter than each other without really giving much thought to what we say, such as what we’re BOTH doing now. This may sound racist but with all the fighting going on in politics, showbiz, religion, and even in our own neighborhoods, you can’t really say none of it is true. Whoever you are, though, thanks for the comments. It’s nice to have strangers give feedback once in a while. Thanks again and have a nice day. My question to you now is, do YOU know your basic economics?

Leave a Reply

